Crash/Stuck Configuration Settings

General Discussion of the FULL GAME only.
No spoilers please.

Moderator: Admin

Sseatris

Crash/Stuck Configuration Settings

Post by Sseatris »

Hey guys, I'm a relative newbie to Devil Whiskey, and my first couple of weeks have been rife with problems.
The base game crashed constantly prior to megamod + patch 2.01b, and afterwards continued whenever I recieved items from quest npcs (letter at Imp. Swords, item pack forced on me by .. that guy).

I managed to fix it by running as administrator, xp compatibility mode, windowed, and single CPU.

So.. problem fixed, but all my save data wiped. No biggie since I couldn't get past the beginning.
When I started a new game though, I lost mouse support, and the game stuck back into fullscreen, and now crashes if I ever alt+tab.

I'm thinking it must be some weird problem related to the config files. The simply don't change when I try to edit them.
Does anyone know where this is located so that I can delete the cache and make changes again?

Or is the problem something I did/changed to fix the other problems? Aargh!

I would really appreciate any help! Mouse play is not essential, but it certainly helps. And now I'm also worried I'll be losing save files/settings in the future.

**EDIT**

Thought I would note, all my save games randomly deleted again (seemingly after I double checked that it was set to one CPU). Halp!

Also just saw that there is a technical help thread for the full game.. I don't think that showed up before I was registered =(

I'm not sure how to move the thread, but please feel free is any moderators still exist.
Growler
Necrolord

Post by Growler »

Hey Sseatris,
Sorry to hear you're having so many issues..
If you answer these questions, it may help someone help you :)

What Operating System are you running? (incl Service Pack, if any)

What's your basic hardware? (motherbd, cpu, ram & esp graphics card?)