My Bard Tale Adventure

Post any topic here, DW related or not.

Moderator: Admin

origen
Dark Sidhe Lord

My Bard Tale Adventure

Post by origen »

Well, I started playing Bard's Tale on the Apple II, which I have never done before, and it is much more difficult than the other versions I have played. I am barely able to stay alive at level 1. Unlike the Dos and C64 versions, you can get attacked by multiple groups of monsters in the city. I am used to only having to face 1 group. Also, the starting HP caps at 19, which I believe is similar to the C-64, while the Dos goes up to 29. Since some of these starting monsters are hitting for 10 points at a clip, I have been dying a lot. But, since this is my quest to finally beat Tarjan, I will stick with it, and hope that my geys don't toil for long on these levels. While I do not want it to be a cakewalk, I would like to survive a fight.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.
dragonbait
Stalker

Post by dragonbait »

Yeah the AppleII version was allot of fun. That's what I originally played the Bard's Tale on way back in 1980 something. with an Apple IIe. How's your new team doing? Have you gotten through the the wine cellar/sewers yet?
origen
Dark Sidhe Lord

Post by origen »

I forgot I opened this post. :oops:

Anyway, I attempted to play the quick version of BT1, since I have sompleted it so many times in the past, so my goal was to build strong characters who will set me up in good position for the next game.

I had to drop some characters, as their stats were stuck at 1, with no way to restore them. I took full advantage of the Berserkers, and got a party of level 20 and 2 full level wizards ready for Mangar.

And, of course, died in Level 5 of the tower. Again. And Again. And Again.